Malaysian Public Policy Competition 2013

When: Sun, August 18, 12pm – 6pm, 2013
Where: Sunway University, Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Admission: Free
Info: Event | Registration Sold Out

[This event is a competition among youth teams on who has the best ideas on government administration. To be held over 3 days from Friday, Aug 16 to Sunday, Aug 18, it is open to the public on Friday morning, the opening ceremony, and Sunday afternoon, when the finalists will make their presentations starting at 2 pm. Twenty teams are involved, a sample of 3 teams is shown below.]

The Malaysia Public Policy Competition (MPPC) aims to give students a taste of the policy-making process in a real world context. This competition is an opportunity for participants to understand the importance of conception and implementation, as well as to tackle common dilemmas in striking the right balance between populist policies and realistic policies. Finals judges/panelists
  • Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah, Former Deputy Minister of Higher Education
  • Johan Merican, CEO, TalentCorp
  • Tony Pua, Member of Parliament, Petaling Jaya Utara
  • Elizabeth Lee, Senior Executive Director, Sunway University
  • Tan Sri Dato’ Dr. Michael Yeoh, CEO, ASLI

Mohammed Mifzal Mohd Murshid Kieron: Law, UiTM
Jainah Jaafar Sidek: Law, UiTM
Jasmine Ho Abdullah: Law, UiTM

Team AL609
Isabell Zubinsha: Law, University of Reading
Kelvin Hong: Law, Kings College London
Julius Yee: Law, University of Exeter
Eva Woon: BSc Management, London School of Economics

Team MIM (Made in Malaysia)
Lee Yong En: Economics, London School of Economics
Tea Xuan Jie: Economics, London School of Economics
Lee Jia Lok: Economics, London School of Economics
Niruthavignesh Sundararajah: Civil Engineering, NUS